One Pin Shy of a Stable Grenade


One Pin Shy of A Stable Grenade

 

So I thought all was said and done until I was getting ready for the gym this morning, and I got a text.

 

“Have a good day”

 I told him thanks and to have a good day too and that I was about to go to the gym…

“The more I think about this, the more I think I’m losing interest”

“Ok”

“I really have no idea what you think or anything and that may be the reason.”

“I’m sorry.  I just don’t open up easily… It takes me time. I respect your decision.”

“My decision? I haven’t decided anything!”

*raises eyebrow* at this point I’ve caught on to what in my opinion is basically needy, attention seeking, I want you to beg me behavior.  I refuse to play games like this.  I can’t stand any sort of mental manipulation.  I don’t mind to ass pat for good reason, but I’m not begging you after one date.

“You said you are losing interest”

“I’m not saying I don’t want to talk to you or see you anymore”

“Ok”

“Do you want to continue talking and seeing each other?”

“The message you sent last night bothered me greatly if you want honesty”

“So it’s a no then”

“That’s ok. I don’t know what message you are talking about but it probably doesn’t matter anyway.  I’m sorry I wasted your time. Good luck”

“Ok, you too”

“Honesty is all I ever wanted.  Something I’ll never get though.”

At that point I stopped responding.  It’s pointless.  We could have gone round and round like that for hours and I have better ways to spend my time and energy.  I don’t do very well with needy people.  Honestly I feel like I am needy enough for me and the guy in any sort of relationship.  I deal with needy all day at my job, and at home with the kiddos.  I just don’t have the patience for it one date into a relationship.  After he checked up on me online last night, and pitched an immediate hissy fit because I was “online” but not responding to him (how dare I…), I knew that this wasn’t a relationship that was going to work for me.  In my head I was seeing a crazy clingy guy who was going to want to spend every.single.waking.minute with me, and I need space.  If I feel trapped I’m going to run, and probably get kinda rude.  And most importantly, I don’t beg. Ever.  At least not seriously. If a guy is dumb enough to want or expect me to beg, they aren’t the guy for me… I’m not saying they should beg, but if they think that I NEED to beg them, then they don’t see how turkey awesome and amazing I am, and I deserve better than that… Back to the drawing board!


What do you say?

