Case of the blahs…


Case of the Blahs…
I’m in a mood today. I don’t know if it’s the fact my back is sore, Or if it’s because I’m lonely, or if it’s because I’m adjusting to sticking to a more strict diet again, but I am in a mood. I want to go to the gym, but with school back in and me working until 6:30 tonight I can’t without keeping the kids up past bed time. I should be able to go tomorrow. Maybe twice. Leg day is up, but if I can only go in the morning, I don’t know that I have time to knock out a full leg day.
I had a friend tick me off last night. He came by my work to say hey because he hadn’t seen me in awhile, which is fine, but I was talking about how I would have more free time soon because I am going to be able to change up my gym schedule. I haven’t told him about what my overall goal is, because he has always kind of knocked the whole concept of body building for both guys and girls, well while we were talking, he was like you don’t do enough cardio. Excuse me? I kinda looked at him funny and he was like you just aren’t hardcore. Umm ok? Says the person who doesn’t lift weights and occasionally goes on a bike ride? I do cardio twice a day on gym days. Once at home and once at the gym, and on non gym days I almost always get 30-45 minutes of dance in at home. I don’t know if he was purposely trying to push my buttons or what but I let him get under my skin.
I understand that not everyone gets why I do what I do or why I want to do what I am working so hard for. I know not everyone is going to approve and I am going to receive criticism, but it just greatly sucks when it comes from someone that should support you. I’m at the point now where I am distancing myself from the more negative people in my life. The ones that are rude and mean. The ones who have to criticize or argue over everything I say. I’m finding that some people are much better friends than I thought, and that others aren’t as good of friends as I had previously considered them. I know this is a part of life, but it seems so high school.
I need to make some friends that have similar goals and that go to the gym. I’m working on it.

2 thoughts on “Case of the blahs…

  1. First of all, what a jerk. Second, if it got under your skin because you’re worried he’s right, he’s surely not. There is such a thing as too much cardio, and it needs to be balanced with strength training. You know this because you’re in it. He has no idea what he’s talking about because he’s not. Either he’s jealous or he’s just the type of person who is incapable of being supportive when he doesn’t understand why his friend wants what she wants. Either way, you’re right: you need new friends.

    • I think it just got under my skin out of frustration. I know I can do this and he doesn’t even know I want to compete and would honestly probably be strongly against it. It’s just a sore spot right now… The on person who gets it and supports me is not close to me and I need to make some like minded friends. Just not sure how to do it.

What do you say?